I first met Kayti when she was in 6th grade and her Mom brought her to our Vacation Bible School. I was the teacher for the Junior Class, which consists of the 5th and 6th graders. Kayti was pretty quiet and didn’t have much to say back then, and was probably made quite nervous by the old, loud guy teaching the class. We made a connection, though, and a bond was established which continues today.

It’s been three years now, and Kayti and I have been through a lot of churching together. One more Vacation Bible School and a couple of Church Camps are among the highlights. Not only that, but on Sunday’s I teach the young teen class, so when Kayti moved up I got to be her teacher for another couple of years. Sadly, I don’t get to teach Kayti any more, as she is a 9th grader and in the older teen class now. Frown.

Like any teacher, parent, or other adult who teaches kids, I wonder to myself: Did it stick? Did they actually learn things? In the case of the teaching of faith, there are even more questions: Do they really know what they believe? Do they understand why? Are they really saved? Do they put their Christian life into action? Are they showing and telling their world about Jesus?

Well, what you are about to read answered all of these questions for me in one simple yet profound paragraph.  This is what my young friend posted on her Facebook wall last night. I can’t even express how moved and encouraged I was to see the boldness with which this young lady dealt with this situation.

Here is what Kayti posted on her wall:(republished with Mom’s okay!)

feeling confident

Today at school we started talking about how we thought abortion was wrong. I was thinking after that how many people could have lied and how many people were telling the truth. I don’t think abortion is right because it kills a person and you never know what they could have done. They could heal cancer or change the world. Then a boy in the group was asking if we believed in God. I said of course. He saved me and has helped me through so much. I said do you and he said no. I said well why? He says why should I. I said he has done wonderful things to you and he will do many more. He said like what. I told him he made you, saved you, and died for you. He said well it doesn’t matter what he does I will never believe. I said you say that now but when you are in hell burning and stop drop and roll doesn’t work in hell and everyone else is roaming the streets of gold in heaven you will see you messed up big time. I just wanted to share this story. Maybe a few people that see it will change how they see God to. I’m praying for him and many more.

Folks, don’t be discouraged. God is still in control, and He has this. We get discouraged sometimes when we look around and it seems the world is falling apart, away from God, and against Christians. We fear all hope is lost, because we seem to be dying on the vine. The demise of Christianity is just around the corner; just ask any atheist. Again, I say, don’t be discouraged! There is a new generation coming into it’s own, and some of them have nailed it!

Great_Commission