Okay, first thing is, nobody got busted. At least not taken to jail busted.

The other day I posted this meme, and it made me think of a funny story from some years back:

grace

Readers may recall that my stepson was recently called by one of our local churches to be their pastor.

I wrote about that here

He was actually called by The Lord one year at camp when he was 14 years old. I know that may seem odd to some, but it’s really not uncommon on our work for young men to get that call fairly early in life. Men don’t just wake up one day, decide to become preachers, and head off to get a Divinity degree. God calls them, and they go as He directs from that point on.

This is not something we fail to see in God’s Word, either:

Jeremiah 1:4-10

Then the word of the Lord came unto me, saying, Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations. Then said I, Ah, Lord God! behold, I cannot speak: for I am a child. But the Lord said unto me, Say not, I am a child: for thou shalt go to all that I shall send thee, and whatsoever I command thee thou shalt speak. Be not afraid of their faces: for I am with thee to deliver thee, saith the Lord. Then the Lord put forth his hand, and touched my mouth. And the Lord said unto me, Behold, I have put my words in thy mouth. See, I have this day set thee over the nations and over the kingdoms, to root out, and to pull down, and to destroy, and to throw down, to build, and to plant.

I wrote about some of his time in the Seminary here

Now, back to the actual story! It was when our young man was still 15 that our pastor decided to let him preach before the church; he couldn’t even drive legally yet. This fact is very key to this story.

So, the big day arrived, and as is normal in our house we are running just barely on time. THEY were, not me. I am neurotically punctual, and they make me NUTS! So, there we were, barely on time, and we dash out headed to the church. Then, we got a call to pick up a kid who wanted to come to church that night. We were still in good shape, as long as we didn’t tarry. This was not a problem for my wife, as she tended to drive fast back in those days.

Zoom, zoom and away we went low and fast. Then….the blue lights. Sigh…this was very very bad. Our local state trooper walked up and immediately was given the full story about running late, headed to the church, young preacher and his first sermon, and still a kid to pick up.  As it turns out, our trooper was a preacher himself, and was pretty amenable to letting us slide. We still had a problem, as now we were about to be officially late!

All of the sudden he tells our young man, “Get out and get in my car.” He told us to go get the kid, and HE would take the preacher to church real quick. It was actually very awesome of him to do this. The story is not over yet, though.

I immediately called one of the folks I knew would be at church and told THEM to muster up a welcome committee, as the preacher was on the way, and they just HAD to see this.

I must say, that nothing can possibly ever beat being taken to church for your first sermon in a State Police Car, only to arrive and find half of your congregation waiting.

You can’t tell me that God doesn’t laugh sometimes.

 

 

