church-discipline-1030x600

Before I took a short break, I was in the middle of a series on the topic of forgiveness. I have to be honest, I got so side tracked that resuming seems pointless, but there were some things I still wanted to talk about. One of the things I wanted to talk about was a very touchy and even controversial topic: Church Discipline. In plainer English: How do we deal with “issues,” in our churches? By issues, I mean sin. Do we deal with, and how do we deal with sin in the camp?

During our short series, we will be building our conversation around this passage:

Matthew 18:15-17

Moreover if thy brother shall trespass against thee, go and tell him his fault between thee and him alone: if he shall hear thee, thou hast gained thy brother. But if he will not hear thee, then take with thee one or two more, that in the mouth of two or three witnesses every word may be established. And if he shall neglect to hear them, tell it unto the church: but if he neglect to hear the church, let him be unto thee as an heathen man and a publican.

Just for the record, I do believe the concept of dealing with sin among the brethren is a Biblical concept. I believe churches have a responsibility and a right to deal with issues among the membership. I also understand that some will disagree; many would simply say that sin is only between a person and God, and that nobody else has any business involving themselves. So, for the next bit, let’s poke around this topic a bit and see where it lead us. During this we will look at some of the questions and issues surrounding Church Displine.

What is it?

Who does it?

How does it work?

What’s it for?

Why is sin even our business?

Is there a right way and a wrong way?

What’s the ultimate goal?

Those are just initial thoughts at this point. As always I appreciate any thought you might like to share as we embark on this short study!

Peace and blessings

