Ephesians 4_32

What does it mean to be kind as taught in the Bible? In the English translations  of the Bible, there are many words used that might be considered synonyms for “kind.” So, pinning down exactly what we mean by kindness may take some effort. Here are just some of the words used to describe what we might see as included in the topic of “kindness” : kindness, goodness, mercy, pity, love, grace, favor ,compassion, gentleness, tenderness.

One definition I found read as following

The quality of compassion and generosity, characteristic of God’s dealings towards the weak and poor, and demanded of believers. The kindness is also shown in the words and deeds of Jesus Christ.

Be nice; be kind; show compassion and generosity. We could go deeper into many meanings of this, and maybe we will. I never really know where these series are going until I get there. For now, however, we are going to keep it simple and just deal with kindness by believers as simply being…nice to each other.

So, over the next little bit(who knows how long?) we will take various Bible passages that address this subject and break them down some and talk about them. Enjoy the ride!

Here are some thoughts and questions to ponder as we tackle this subject. Feel free to add your thoughts and perhaps they will become topic for posting.

Who are we to be kind to?

That’s easy. Everybody.

So, I have to be kind to even people I don’t like?

Yes

What if they aren’t kind to me?

Too bad.

What if I am just not kind by nature?

Silly Christian, you have a NEW nature.

Can I just do it if I want to? What if I don’t want to?

Well, it’s not a suggestion, it is a commandment.

Does being kind mean I have to get walked on?

No, not really.

Does turning the other cheek mean I have to stand by and watch a brother or sister be assaulted?

Nope, not at all.

Does being kind mean I never tell the truth? Do I just have to do and say what makes people happy?

Not at all.

Is it okay for me to ever get mad at anybody?

Maybe, depends.

How do I know what I need to do to be kind?

Read the instruction manual. (That’s The Bible)

Who is my best example of kindness to follow?

Duh. Jesus.

Well, that’s a start and I hope the brain wheels are turning. Thoughts? Suggestions? Arguments(Arguments are ok…just be….kind)

See you all Wednesday!

