faith in action

James 4:8

 Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.


 As we covered earlier, God has provides sufficient grace for us to overcome the obstacles we face, in this case, particularly the conflicts we face among ourselves. But, we do have to claim, or appropriate that grace. First, we submit to God. Next, we resist the Devil. The next item in our list is to draw near to God, because in so doing He will then draw near to us.

We draw near to God by our worship of Him. We can seem some Old Testament examples of this from the Priests.

Exodus 19:22 And let the priests also, which come near to the LORD, sanctify themselves, lest the LORD break forth upon them.

Leviticus 10:3 Then Moses said unto Aaron, This is it that the LORD spake, saying, I will be sanctified in them that come nigh me, and before all the people I will be glorified. And Aaron held his peace.

Today of course, we have a High Priest in the form of our Lord Jesus Christ, and the writer of Hebrews had this to say while writing about the superiority of the priesthood of Jesus:

Hebrews 7:19 For the law made nothing perfect, but the bringing in of a better hope did; by the which we draw nigh unto God.

To draw hear to God, we have to be like God. A.W Tozer wrote a book entitled “Nearness is Likeness.” The following quote is from that book.

The more we are like God, the nearer we are to God.  I many be sitting in my living room with my Siamese cat on my lap, and my wife may be twenty feet away in the kitchen, yet I am nearer to my wife than to the cat because the cat is unlike me. We have very little in common.

How much do we have in common with God? How near to Him are we?

