faith in action

James 3:14

But if ye have bitter envying and strife in your hearts, glory not, and lie not against the truth.


Read all of James Chapter 3 here

The choosing of worldly wisdom over the wisdom of God is motivated by proud arrogance and boasting. James’ use of the words, “glory not” is no more than a warning to us to avoid proud arrogance and boasting.

Arrogance and boasting is clearly and simply the hallmark of a man who is concentrated on self rather than God. “Look what I did!” screams the boastful person, or the person operating under the wisdom offered by the world. “Look what God did!” screams the person operating under the wisdom offered by God. After all, none of what we accomplish is our own; James already told us that once back in Chapter 1 of his epistle.

James 1:17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.

Again, Paul reinforces what James is teaching us here.(I just love that!)

2 Corinthians 10:12 For we dare not make ourselves of the number, or compare ourselves with some that commend themselves: but they measuring themselves by themselves, and comparing themselves among themselves, are not wise.

To close, here is nice poem by a lady named Glenda Palmer, quoted by David Jeremiah in his book, What to do when you don’t know what to do. It’s pretty sarcastic, but makes the point well.

I thank you, Lord, for giving me

terrific looks, a brilliant mind

and  sparkling personality

that’s spiritually inclined.

I love my kinds and Christian mate,

our friendly church and Sunday School,

our ranch -style home with patio

and solar-heated swimming pool

I know my talents come from you;

I’m praised for my angelic voice

that sings and teaches weaker ones

the way to make a Godly choice.

And thanks for my prestigious job

and giving me an added gift-

that anything my pen jots down

becomes indeed, inspired script.

You ought to bless every Christian;

some lives seem ready to crumble,

but I am so proud that You blessed me-

I guess it’s just that I’m so humble.

