As always, great stuff here from Elihu at Elihu’s Corner. Blessings and enjoy!

img_2151

Last week, I shared with you why I ditched my Bible reading plan, and relayed my current plan for trekking through the book of Romans.

In the past week and a half, I have read through Romans three times. I’ve read and reread various chapters, trying to grasp the bigger picture of the letter. I thought, perhaps, that if I focused solely on Romans, I would draw more from the text.

Sadly, I STILL found myself continuing to tune out, fighting to keep my mind on the task at hand.

Granted… My mind has been engaged in a fierce battle with depression, among other things. October is a challenging month for me. Three years ago yesterday, my spouse endured a traumatic event that turned our lives upside down. In truth, near-death experiences are traumatic for both spouses. We both suffer from a degree of PTSD, (my spouse, of course, suffers from it on a far greater level than I). While we both try not to dwell on this past event, on some intangible plane, we find ourselves more restless during the month of October…….Read the rest of the post here: Why Study the Bible?

